Accredited Training Programs

The Illinois Certification Board (ICB) currently accredits 26 alcohol and other drug counselor training programs.

Students graduating from the preparatory alcohol and other drug counselor training programs have fulfilled the criteria to become a registered applicant, indicating that an individual is in the process of becoming a Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor (CADC). Upon passing the certification examination offered by ICB, individuals receive a letter of verification of registered applicant.

Nineteen programs offer advanced alcohol and other drug counselor training programs. Students graduating from advanced programs will fulfill the criteria for becoming a Certified Alcohol and Other Drug Counselor (CADC), after submitting an application and having successfully passed the certification examination offered by ICB.

Training programs that offer both the advanced and the preparatory programs are marked with one asterisk beside the program name. Training programs that offer only the advanced programs are marked with two asterisks beside the program name. All other programs offer only the preparatory training programs.

Contact the ICB office with any questions.
Address – 401 East Sangamon Avenue, Springfield, IL  62702
Telephone Number – (217) 698-8110

E-Mail – info@iaodapca.org                               
Web Page – WWW.IAODAPCA.ORG

  NAME OF SCHOOL  POINT OF CONTACT  ADDRESS  TELEPHONE NUMBER
  Adler University**  William Karmia    17 North Dearborn Chicago, IL 60602   E-Mail:  wkarmia@adler.edu  (312) 203-4483  
  Aurora University**  Laura Donavon  347 South Gladstone Avenue Aurora, IL  60506   E-Mail:  ldonavon@aurora.edu  (630) 947-8937  
  Behavioral Services Center  Eugene Isyanov  8707 Skokie Blvd., #207 Skokie, IL 60077   Email: eisyanov@behavioralservices.us  (847) 673-8577
  Chicago State University**  Maryse Nazon  9501 South King Drive  Room 328 HWI Chicago, IL  60628-1598   E-Mail:  mnazon@csu.edu               marzone@comcast.net  (773) 995-2394
  Chicago School of Professional Psychology**  Sandra Siegel  325 N. Wells Street Chicago, IL 60654   E-Mail: ssiegel@thechicagoschool.edu  (312) 329-6638
  College of DuPage *    Jason Florin    425 Fawell Blvd.                        Glen Ellyn, IL  60l37-6599   E-Mail:  florin@cod.edu  (630) 942-2043
  College of Lake County *  Janet Mason              19351 West Washington Street                        Grayslake, IL  60030   E-Mail:  jmason@clcillinois.edu  (847) 543-2536  
  Elgin Community College*  Joseph Rosenfeld  Human Services Department                        1700 Spartan Drive, B-280 Elgin, IL  60123-7193   E-Mail:  jrosenfeld@elgin.edu  (847) 214-7345
  Governors State University*  Cheryl L. Mejta    College of Health and Human Services Department of Addictions Studies and Behavioral Health One University Parkway University Park, IL  60484   E-Mail: cmejta@govst.edu  (708) 534-4911
  Illinois Central College  Daniel Kelts  One College Drive East Peoria, IL  61635   E-Mail:  dkelts@icc.edu  (309) 690-6898

  NAME OF SCHOOL  
  POINT OF CONTACT  ADDRESS  TELEPHONE NUMBER
  Illinois Valley Community College  Sherry Dockins  815 North Orlando Smith Drive Oglesby, IL  61348   E-Mail:  sherry_dockins@ivcc.edu  (815) 224-2720 EXT 8608
  Kennedy King College*  Jacqueline Graham-Sylvestal    6301 South Halsted Street Chicago, IL  60621   E-Mail: jgraham-sylvestal@ccc.edu  (773) 602-5338
  Lewis University**  Touwanna Edwards  Campus Box 1210 1 University Parkway Romeoville, IL 60446   E-Mail: edwardto@lewisu.edu  (815) 836-5746  
  Loyola University Chicago**    Marcy Wilroy  School of Social Work 1 E. Pearson Chicago, IL 60611   E-Mail: mwilroy@luc.edu  (312) 915-7375
  McDermott Center Professional  Learning Program  Lisa Abrams  Haymarket Center 120 North Sangamon                        Chicago, IL  60607   E-Mail:  Labrams@hcenter.org  (312) 226-7984 Ext. 581
  Moraine Valley Community  College *  John DiGangi  9000 West College Parkway                        Palos Hills, IL  60465   E-Mail:  digangij4@morainevalley.edu  (708) 608-4337
  National Louis University**  Laurie Siegel  122 S. Michigan Avenue Chicago, IL 60603   E-Mail: Laurie.Siegel@nl.edu  (312) 261-3578
  New Hope School of Counseling    Roberto Montanez    3710 North Kedzie Avenue Chicago, IL  60618   E-Mail: Rmontanez@Rinconfamilyservices.org  (773) 564-9070    
  Oakton Community College*  Bakahia Madison    Room 2727                        1600 East Golf Road Des Plaines, IL  60016-1268   E-Mail:  bmadison@oakton.edu  (847) 635-1845
  South Suburban College**        Edith Raices    15800 South State Street South Holland, IL  60473   E-Mail: eraices@ssc.edu  (708) 596-2000      

    NAME OF SCHOOL  
    POINT OF CONTACT    ADDRESS    TELEPHONE NUMBER
  Southern Illinois University/ Carbondale**    Jane Nichols    Rehabilitation Institute Rehn 329A Mail Code 4609 Carbondale, IL 62966   E-Mail: jlnichols@siu.edu  (618) 453-8291  
  University of Chicago**  Gabriela Zapata-Alma  969 East 60th Street Chicago, IL  60637   E-Mail:  GabrielaZapata@UChicago.edu  (773) 702-1250
  University of Illinois at Springfield**  Denise K. Bockmier-Sommers    College of Education and Human Services 1 University Plaza, MS BRK 332 Springfield, IL  62703   E-Mail:  dsomm2@uis.edu  (217) 206-5407
  University of St. Francis**  Lawrence Dunbar  500 Wilcox Street Joliet, IL 60435   E-Mail: ldunbar@stfrancis.edu  (815) 740-3686
  Waubonsee Community College*  Michael Moran  Route 47 at Waubonsee Drive                        Sugar Grove, IL  60554   E-Mail:  mmoran@waubonsee.edu  (630) 466-2461  
  Wilbur Wright College  Maritza Cordero  4300 N. Narragansett Chicago, IL 60634   E-Mail: lcordero5@ccc.edu  (773) 481-8352